top of page

Slade's Newborn Gallery

Slade got the honor of being my first newborn of 2019! With a due date near Christmas this little dude had me on my toes the whole holiday season. Sure enough, just as his mommy had predicted, he came well after his due date.

Slade's arrival rounded out his family and made them a #partyoffour. His mommy, daddy, and big brother Callan were all very excited to welcome him into their world. Speaking of, Callan is about one of the sweetest toddlers I may have ever met, and I've met a lot of toddlers! When I walked into the McCarter home Callan immediately walked over to me with his arms up for "uppies" and was quite content in my arms. It was a very sweet greeting and really made my whole day.

This session was a little different for me in a couple ways. Typically for parent and family poses I prefer to find an empty wall space in my client's homes. I noticed that Slade's family had a really cute little set up in their dining area and after a quick clean up I decided that it would make an adorable backdrop for their portraits! When I got home and began culling the images I quickly decided that I was right. I love the little peeks of their wedding photos and gorgeous wall clock in the background.

I also did some things differently in terms of my set-up, in an effort to try a new method I thought might be helpful to not only my back but my backdrop smoothness as well. I am always paying attention to new ways of doing different things and often adopt new poses, methods, and gear as I find that something may be complementary to my workflow.

After getting the family poses taken care of we went ahead and transitioned into the posed/backdrop portion of the session. Slade slept pretty well and we got through his session quickly. Mommy asked for blues, greys, and neutrals in his session and I enjoyed styling it for him. I also enjoyed capturing a few images of him on a special blanket that his parents had ordered for him.




 
16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page